St. John’s Farmers’ Market

Board of Directors

The St. John’s Farmers’ Market is a dual stakeholder co-operative with vendors and consumers each electing six board members, who serve for two-year terms.

The 2017-2018 Board

Joshua Smee

Chair, Consumer Member

Joshua Smee is a community developer by profession, currently employed as Provincial Expansion Coordinator at Choices for Youth. He has served on the Board of the SJFM since 2012 and as Chair since 2014. Outside of the Market, he is involved in numerous other community and music organizations.

Hannah Gaultois

Vice-Chair, Consumer Member

Hannah is beginning her 6th year with the SJFM. She works at the Centre for Social Enterprise at Memorial University, which focuses on growing local and sustainable businesses while keeping community needs in mind. Hannah has a background in human resources, policy development and diversity management. In addition to her work, Hannah is a serving member of the Canadian Armed Forces, and is currently a musician with the Royal Newfoundland Regiment.

Evan Murray

Treasurer, Vendor Member

With a background in Environmental Science and Horticulture, Evan Murray has a passion for gardening and farming with a holistic approach. Operating out of Portugal Cove, he works with his partner, Brian Kowalski, to manage Murray Meadows Farm, an organic vegetable farm located on his family’s multi-generational agricultural land.

Lori Greene

Secretary, Vendor Member

Lori Greene has been involved with the Market since the beginning. She was a founder of the Market and has been a part of its evolution in a variety of ways- from board member to customer to vendor. These days you can find Lori selling crepes with her husband, Colin.

Emily Hunt

Vendor Member

Emily Hunt has been a vendor since the very first St. John’s Farmers’ Market in 2008, and an active board member since 2014. She is originally from the Vancouver area and has lived with her family in St. John’s since 2006.

Greg Whalen

Consumer Member

Greg helps clients buy and sell homes as a Realtor, and also performs freelance translations (Brazilian Portuguese to English). Involved with SJFM over past 4 years as a Consumer. Other Volunteer activities: CBS Lions Club, Topsail Elementary “Kiss-n-Go” program, girls minor soccer coach and conversational English classes at RIAC.

Kevin Zhao

Consumer Member

Kevin is a financial advisor at CIBC and a dedicated market customer. He has been living in Newfoundland for 9 years. The first day he came here, he fell in love with this beautiful land. St. John’s, its beautiful land, nice people and open culture has become his second hometown since then.

Erin MacArthur

Vendor Member

Erin McArthur manages their small family pottery business, Northeastern Folk Art. In addition to the St. John’s Farmers’ Market board for the past year, she currently serves on the boards of St. Andrew’s Presbyterian Church and CAPE(Artist Emergency Fund); previous boards include the Craft Council of NL, the St. John’s Folk Arts Society and the Canadian Crafts Federation.

Sonya Clarke Casey

Consumer Member

Sonya Clarke Casey is one of the newest board members, elected in 2018. She is a social worker at the St John’s Native Friendship Centre and has spent much of her career in community development. Sonya has been a long-time farmers’ market groupie and is excited to lend her hand to the new market.

Previous Board members of the Co-op or the precursor Friends of the St. John’s Farmers' Market include:

  • Colin Greene
  • Kristie Jameson
  • Oz Rabinowitz
  • Dan Ficken
  • Devon Crosby
  • Allison Doyle
  • Kristen Lowitt
  • Patsy Gosse
  • Lori Greene
  • Michelle May
  • Laurie Butt
  • Jim Winter
  • C. Dean Barnes
  • Sarah MacAuley
  • Lori Greene
  • Shelley Pardy
  • Emily Martin
  • Adam Blanchard
  • Jen Daniels
  • Andrea Dicks